PDA

View Full Version : Delaronde Making Impact With Tribe

Scout
08-30-2007, 09:25 AM
MATTHEW GOURLIE
The Moose Jaw Times Herald

Warriors forward Terrance Delaronde chats with teammates during practice Tuesday afternoon. Matthew Gourlie photograph

Terrance Delaronde is a player who isn’t afraid to get his hands dirty and is looking for a fresh start.
As the 20-year-old from Winnipeg joins the Moose Jaw Warriors, he has shown a strong work ethic and no shortness of grit in practice and scrimmages during training camp.
Delaronde says he isn’t trying to make a statement in camp — he just only knows one way to play the game.
“I’ve been a hard-work guy since I started playing the game, that’s just who I am,” said Delaronde.
“I work hard on and off the ice and I take a lot of pride in that.”
Delaronde was acquired from the Kamloops Blazers in June for a fourth round Bantam pick in 2009. The hard-working power forward had 12 goals and 12 assists in 69 games. He tallied 109 penalty minutes and also scored two playoff goals in four games.
“I was very excited. I though it was a good opportunity to come here and finish my junior career on a positive note and hopefully move on to the pros,” said Delaronde.
The left winger joins returnee Keith Voytechek as the lone overage forwards while goalies Joey Perricone and Kurt Jory battle for the starting job. Though the Warriors’ 20-year-old situation seems set, Delaronde isn’t taking anything for granted.
“Nothing is guaranteed in this game, it’s going to be a battle for everyone,” said the six-foot-one, 197-pounder. “Every day you have to come here and prove yourself day in and day out. That’s just the way it is.
“I have to be who I am . . . and be positive day in and day out.”
Delaronde began his career with the Regina Pats as a 17-year-old. He played 19 games before being traded to Kamloops. He finished that 2004-05 season with 10 points and had 15 points and 188 penalty minutes in 05-06 with the Blazers.