PDA

View Full Version : Thursday notes (Sept. 20)

nivek_wahs
09-20-2007, 03:17 PM
From Alan Caldwell's blog... http://smallatlarge.blogspot.com/... If you want to visit the links mentioned in this post visit Alan`s blog, it`s worth the read.

Thursday notes
The day we've been waiting for since late May is here: the season starts tonight in Edmonton with a clash between the Oil Kings and the Kootenay Ice. The game is on Shaw in Canada.

To kick off the season, the first edition of the CHL Top Ten rankings are out. Let's see: four OHL teams, four QMJHL teams, and two WHL teams. Of course, because everyone knows the WHL is only half as good as the other two leagues, right? The 'dub has only won four of the last seven Memorial Cups after all. I am not an expert on the strength of OHL and QMJHL teams but WHL teams like Kamloops, Vancouver, and Regina can all make a pretty good case to be on that list with Calgary and Everett.

Anyways.....whole bunch of NHL cuts yesterday saw a good 10 or so WHLers returned to junior: Drayson Bowman, Justin McCrae, Spencer Machacek, Keaton Ellerby, Michal Repik, Mark Santorelli, Viktor Sjodin, Jonathon Blum and Nick Ross. By my count, this leaves only 28 players still at NHL camps - and 20 of them are Silvertips. Or so it seems anyway.

A few cuts.....Brandon cuts one defenceman. So do the Regina Pats.

The Hitmen have sent sniper Keegan Dansereau home for disciplinary reasons, and it doesn't sound very promising for him rejoining the team. Sounds more like there could be a trade brewing for the very talented but unmotivated Dansereau. Also mentioned in that article is the release of tryout forward Graham Telford.

The returning members of the Medicine Hat Tigers feel they have some unfinished business.

Lethbridge's big three forwards are looking forward to some more 21 point nights.