PDA

View Full Version : Aftermath...

nivek_wahs
04-01-2008, 06:51 AM
http://www.canada.com/reginaleaderpost/news/sports/story.html?id=67eaa2dd-2269-4d5b-ada2-2a2b675f29dd

Pats goaltending picture may not be 'Rosie'

Greg Harder, The Leader-Post
Published: Tuesday, April 01, 2008

Linden Rowat got the hook in his final game of the season, but will the Regina Pats cut bait?

With Jeff Bosch waiting in the wings, the Pats have reached a crossroads on their starting goalie position for 2008-09. Do they continue running with the three-year veteran or hand the reins to his promising understudy.

Either way, it's unlikely there will be room for Rowat and Bosch in the same crease for another full season.

"I'd love to stay a Pat," a sombre Rowat said Tuesday as the team held its final gathering of the season at the Brandt Centre. "I've been here for three years and it has been a great experience. I want to spend my whole career in Regina, but Boschy is a great goalie. He's ready to step it up. He could be a starter for Regina or any team in the league. I don't know (what will happen). We'll see how things pan out over the year."

It's no easy choice for the Pats, who have the benefit of quality and depth at the game's most crucial position. The third goalie on their depth chart is Damien Ketlo, who fought Bosch tooth and nail for the backup job in training camp before winning the starter's job with the junior A Prince George Spruce Kings. He was named a BCHL all-star this season -- at age 16.

Next in line is highly touted prospect Derek Tendler, 15, of the Regina Pat Canadians. The local product was named the top goalie and most valuable player in the Saskatchewan Midget AAA Hockey League this season.

With four goalies who could all conceivably play in the WHL next season, it doesn't take a mathematician to figure out that at least one trade is in the Pats' future -- perhaps two -- to help improve the team in other areas.