PDA

View Full Version : Eric Doyle Learns Patience

Tipped Off
10-09-2005, 10:09 AM
Silvertips' Doyle learns to be patient
Former first-round Bantam draft pick adjusts to the WHL

By John Sleeper
Herald columnist

EVERETT - The Everett Silvertips were in the middle of a scorching game with the Spokane Chiefs and Eric Doyle wished he'd been anywhere but in the stands, watching.

Even for a first-round draft choice, the Western Hockey League represents a cruel reality check. One of those realities is the vertical learning curve. And that means that even a gifted 16-year-old defenseman has times when he watches games from the stands.

"It's my first time," Doyle said. "It's definitely tough. I want to be in there badly. But we just have too many guys right now. There's going to be a couple defensemen out every game, but everybody's got to pay their dues, I guess."

That may not change immediately, even though the Silvertips traded defenseman Randy King Friday to the Prince George Cougars for a fifth-round WHL Bantam draft pick in 2006. The Silvertips still have eight defensemen on the roster. Doyle, who won't turn 17 until April 5, is the youngest and least experienced.

Thus, he will have times when he'll watch in street clothes.

"I definitely want to come in here and make an impact on the team and in the league as well," Doyle said. "I think they're kind of just easing me into it right now. I'm not really playing in all situations. I'm really not playing that much, but hopefully, by the end of the year I'll be in all different situations. I just want the coaches to trust me and that every time they put me on the ice, they're not worrying about the defensive end.

"The offense is there, but I still need to work on my defensive game."