PDA

View Full Version : Pats hire Goalie Consultant...

nivek_wahs
11-08-2006, 06:19 AM
Former WHL star Corey Hirsch.

Schooling for goalies (http://www.canada.com/reginaleaderpost/news/sports/story.html?id=1605537a-5c02-4b8c-b9e4-4c7398f0190e) I don't know how long the link will stay valid so I posted the article...

Schooling for goalies

Greg Harder, The Leader-Post
Published: Wednesday, November 08, 2006
Corey Hirsch is taking the Regina Pats to school.

The veteran puckstopper has been added to Regina's coaching staff as a part-time tutor for second-year goalies Linden Rowat and Tommy Tartaglione. Hirsch will spend this week practising with the team and is slated to return periodically during the season as needed -- and when his schedule permits.

"Basically I'm a consultant," he said following Tuesday's practice at the Brandt Centre. "I'm just here to help out and give the coaching staff some drills and maybe a little insight into goaltending."

Hirsch brings instant credibility to his role as a goalie coach. The former Kamloops Blazers star recently completed a 14-year pro career which included three seasons with the NHL's Vancouver Canucks. The Medicine Hat native is best known for backstopping Canada to a silver medal at the 1994 Olympics.

The 34-year-old is now employed by Hockey Canada and will be doing some work next month with the national junior team. It was during Canada's summer development camp that he met Pats head coach Curtis Hunt, who suggested an expanded collaboration.

"Seeing how he worked and his analogies, I felt very comfortable with him," said Hunt, an assistant coach with the Canadian squad. "It's just nice to have a third set of eyes focused on (the goaltenders) solely. They're such a huge part of your team's success. Just having him with us for practice allows him to stay on the goaltenders and stress the good habits."

Hirsch's instruction is also benefiting Hunt and assistant Terry Perkins.