Thread: Top 20 WHL rankings

Default Top 20 WHL rankings

Here is the preliminary top rankings for the WHL from The Draft Guy.

http://thedraftguy.com/cms/index.php...page&Itemid=35

The list was compiled with the aid of several NHL scouts and one director of player personnel, who upon having the list emailed to him responded "good list."

I confer on a daily basis with scouts and garner their opinions on all of the top prospects.

Keep in mind it is still early in the season, and many of the players have only been seen on a couple of occasions or so. Most of the scouts I deal with are high up in their organizations, and look at prospects all over the world as opposed to just being regional scouts, so they haven't had a chance to see every top prospect individually yet. There will be changes to the list as the season goes along

If you have any questions about the rankings, I'll check in over the next few days to respond. I am a longtime sports journalist who has gone into providing scouting services on a full-time basis. I do a fair bit of scouting myself and live near Ottawa, where I'm able to see both OHL and QMJHL games quite handily, but I rely heavily on the pros (especially out west); that's their jobs.
    Last edited by The Draft Guy; 12-08-2007 at 04:48 PM.

Great too see Niemi and Holtby crack the top 20 applause

Quote Originally Posted by hobster
    Great too see Niemi and Holtby crack the top 20 applause
    Going into the season Holtby was a no-brainer to crack the top 20 - the talent is there if he can bring a little more consistency.

Niemi sort of came out of nowhere - a pleasant surprise. Not sure if it hurt him or helped him to be out so long with an injury...I have a feeling it helped, as scouts got to see the warts in other players' games like Wright, Wahl, etc.

Ya Niemi has 7 goals in 14 games from defence he has a cannon of a shot i think thats how he hurt his wrist earlier on, he was taking alot of shots and the were blasters.